“Give me a drink,” he says to the woman at the well.

No introductions, “Hi, my name is Jesus…,” or “Would you mind so terribly much…?” Just the voicing of need. I wonder if his mother would have hung her head, embarrassed at his boldness. Then again, she was just a Samaritan and a woman at that.

The woman looks from her task to this man, so assuming in his request. Had she been avoiding his gaze? Did she recognize her lowly place with this stranger and think small thoughts, hoping to physically diminish her size in the process? But, to no avail. Not only did he notice, but he spoke.

“Give me a drink.”

“How is it that you, being a Jew, ask me for a drink since I am a Samaritan woman?” She understands her place with this man. Still I wonder, does she ask in true humility? Or with a hint of incredulous annoyance? Is her mind so full with tasks of her day to now be bothered by this self-righteous Jew, so ill-prepared to be traveling without water pouch?

“If you knew the gift of God and who it is who says to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.”

He desired to gift. Yet, He approached from a position of need.

Daily I am approached from a position of need. And like the woman, I wonder, “How is it..?” In other words, “Why?” Why do they need me now? Why is this so hard? Why does it have to break?

But, what if the need is really an invitation? Inviting me into eternity, now? Deeper relationship with those in need, and the Author of their lives, now? What if the question at hand is just a cover for greater gift?

Minutes of need are really moments for notice. Rather than assume a small posture, whether out of fear or annoyance, Christ says embrace the need, recognizing the gift within it. More importantly, look and see the One from which both come.

Then say, Yes.

 

 

