Tags

, , , ,

Picture from wickapedia

Who, I wonder as I watch, could observe the gecko and remain hard-hearted to a Creator? What stone man sees this color wonder and proclaims random-chance’s hand?

He is acrobat on holly bush. Leaf by leaf he climbs, slinking between shadows, looking for shade. Seen earlier among wood chips, he blended brown earth tones. Now, as climbing, first up thick branch, higher and higher to fresh green shoot, he transforms before my very eyes. Speckled, then faint, now Oz green. Only his tail remains striped yellow-brown as it flits back and forth while body rests still among glossy leaves. Like a small child hidden among pillows with only his bottom poking in air, thinking he’s invisible, “You’ll never find me, Mommy!” he giggles. Gecko’s tail plays traitor to an otherwise perfect disguise.

Never still for long. Stitching down one branch and up another. He’s a green needle threaded with brown ribbon– over, under, leaf by leaf, weaving his body in sewing rhythm. Connecting shiny green to shiny green.

Oh, how the glory of God lives in this place! An acrobat in my holly bush; size of a  clothes pin.

Who, I wonder as I watch, could observe the gecko, and remain hard-hearted to a Creator? What stone man sees this color wonder and proclaims random-chance’s hand?

“You alone are the LORD. You made the heavens, even the highest heavens, and all their starry host, the earth and all that is on it, the seas and all that is in them. You give life to everything, and the multitudes of heaven worship you.” Nehemiah 9:6

(I wrote this on Sunday while observing a gecko from my front porch. I was so amused by his sweet antics and overjoyed at the ability to observe such wonder, I had to write, so as to capture the God-glory. I hope my gecko can bring a smile to your lips and fresh eyes to see created beauty in small moments.

I would love, LOVE to hear your own God-glory moments! Please share a new noticing in the comments. Love to you, Shari)

